bannière-ANG
Bannière-portable-ANG

« What's the big secret ? Restoring people's dignity. » 

abbé Pierre, Pensées inédites, 2015.

Emmaus was founded by Abbé Pierre in 1949 and this international solidarity movement is based on a core ethical principle - rather than working for the most deprived people, the Emmaus Movement works with them, enabling them to regain their dignity and help other needy people. Since 1949, the Emmaus Movement has endeavoured to build a more humane society, combating all forms of social, racial, political, economic, religious and philosophical exclusion and discrimination, and ensuring that everyone's fundamental rights are guaranteed and respected. Emmaus seeks to address the root causes of poverty, putting forward practical alternatives to our current profit-based society.

Emmaus has a worldwide presence and now has over 300 member organisations across Europe. Their main income-generating activity is collecting and recycling second-hand goods. This reflects a well thought-out approach aligned with the Emmaus Movement’s values of solidarity, simplicity, and shelter and support: Emmaus gives a new lease of life to unwanted goods, while also giving a second chance to men and women 'discarded’ by society. The Emmaus groups are therefore pioneers of an alternative model combining economic development, respect for the environment, and social and solidarity-based action to address exclusion.

Emmaus and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR)

The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is an integral part of the Emmaus Movement's Universal Manifesto. In accordance with the UDHR's ethos, the Emmaus groups work on a daily basis at the grassroots to champion these values and denounce violations of them. The practical initiatives run by the Emmaus member organisations bring alive the 30 articles: each human being regains their dignity and helps to develop a more socially-supportive form of community living that respects fundamental rights.

While the universal values advocated by this declaration were key to building peace in Europe, it has to be said that the ambitions of 1948 have been watered down. The guarantees enshrined in this declaration are far from being a priority in our contemporary societies. It has to be said that at local, regional, national and European level, too few political decisions are being taken on protecting fundamental rights.

Together, let's apply the UDHR to make the values it champions meaningful.

#freedom#equality

#universalrights #freedomforall

#life #securityofperson
 

#freedomfromslavery

#freedomfromtorture

#recognitionbeforethelaw

#equalitybeforethelaw

#protectionofthelaw #effectivejudiciary

#justice #deprivationoffreedom

#independentjustice #impartial

#presomptiondinnoncence #legalitedesdelitsetdespeines

#privacy

#freedomofmovement

#rightofasylum

#nationality

#family#righttomarry

#property

#conscience #religion

#freedomofexpression

#freedomofassembly

#publicaffairs #democracy

#socialsecurity

#work #tradeunion

#rest #paidleave

#socialprotection

#education

#culture #copyright

#freeworld #fairness

#responsability

#basicrights

logo-emmaus-europe-blanc

2018 - Website computing development : Agence Parteja

Legal notice

bannière-FR-2
Bannière-portable

« Restituer à l’Homme sa dignité, voilà le grand secret. » 

Abbé Pierre, Pensées inédites, 2015.

Emmaüs a été fondé par l’Abbé Pierre en 1949. Ce mouvement de solidarité internationale se base sur un principe éthique fondamental : plutôt que de travailler pour les plus démunis, il travaille avec eux, pour les aider à retrouver leur dignité et à aider les autres personnes dans le besoin. Depuis 1949, le mouvement s’est efforcé de construire une société plus humaine, en luttant contre toutes les formes d’exclusion et de discrimination – qu’elles soient de nature sociale, raciale, politique, économique, religieuse ou philosophique – et en s’assurant que les droits fondamentaux soient garantis et respectés pour tous. Emmaüs cherche à lutter contre les causes de la misère, en proposant des alternatives concrètes à notre société actuelle, basée sur le profit.

Présent dans le monde entier, Emmaüs compte aujourd’hui plus de 300 groupes répartis sur l’ensemble du continent européen. Leur activité principale porte sur la récupération et la valorisation des objets de seconde main. Elle reflète une démarche réfléchie en lien avec les valeurs de solidarité, d’accueil, et de sobriété du mouvement : de même qu’Emmaüs donne une seconde vie à des objets délaissés, il donne une seconde chance à des humains que la société avait mis au rebut. Ainsi, les groupes Emmaüs sont pionniers d’un modèle alternatif qui conjugue développement économique, respect de l’environnement et action sociale et solidaire en faveur de la lutte contre l’exclusion.

Emmaüs et la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme

La Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme fait partie intégrante du manifeste universel porté par le Mouvement Emmaüs. Dans l’esprit de ce texte, les groupes agissent quotidiennement sur le terrain pour en défendre les valeurs et en dénoncer les atteintes. Par des actions concrètes, ils font vivre les 30 articles qui la composent : chaque être humain, retrouvant sa dignité, contribue à construire un vivre-ensemble plus solidaire dans le respect des droits fondamentaux.

Si les valeurs universelles prônées par cette déclaration furent capitales dans la structuration de la paix en Europe, force est de constater que l’ambition de 1948 a été revue à la baisse. Les garanties apportées par ce texte sont loin d’être une priorité de nos sociétés contemporaines. Aux échelles locale, régionale, nationale et européenne, trop peu de décisions politiques sont prises dans le sens de la protection des droits fondamentaux.

Ensemble, appliquons la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme pour donner du sens aux valeurs qu’elle défend.

#liberte #egalite

#droitsuniversels #libertepourtous

#vie #surete
 

#contrelesclavage

#contrelatorture

#personnalitejuridique

#egalitedevantlaloi

#protectiondelaloi #recourseffectif

#justice #privationdeliberte

#justiceindependante #impartielle

#presomptiondinnoncence #legalitedesdelitsetdespeines

#vieprivee

#librecirculation

#droitdasile

#nationalite

#famille #mariagelibre

#propriete

#conscience #religion

#libertedexpression

#libertedereunion

#chosepublique #democratie

#securitesociale

#travail #syndicat

#repos #congespayes

#protectionsociale

#education

#culture #droitsdauteur

#mondelibre #equite

#responsabilite

#droitsfondamentaux